The Mark Time Awards

News and Notes

2018 Entries will be accepted from January 1st, 2018 to March 31st, 2018. 

Productions must be completed between May 1st, 2016 and March 31st, 2018, except for in the new comedy award, The Bozo Knows, which will accept entries produced within the last three years.

2018 Entry forms and guidelines will be available December 2017.


How To Enter

The Mark Time Awards will not be open to competition until January 2018.  All works  produced between June 30th 2016 and December 31st 2017 will be eligible for consideration. 

Entry  submissions will be accepted between January 1, 2018  and  March 1, 2018.

The 2017 Mark Time Awards will be given by the surviving members of the Firesign Theatre, David Ossman and Phil Proctor, to individuals whom they wish to recognize for contributions to the group's legacy.

Return to this site closer to the deadline in 2018 for updated application information and entry forms.

Thank you for your continued interest.

Mark Time Awards Entry Guidelines

The Mark Time Awards are given to honor the best in audio theatre production in the English language, in the following genre categories:

  • The Mark Time Award for the best Science Fiction production.
  • The Ogle Award for best fantasy or horror.
  • The Nick Danger Prize for the best in the mystery/detective genre.
  • The Bozo Knows for best comedy audio play. (NEW!)
  • The Betty Jo (But Everyone Knew Her as Nancy) for best acting performances, among entries in all categories.
  • The Runyon for audio theatre produced by youth, under 18 years of age.
  • The Bradshaw for “service to the field.”


All entries will be judged on creative and original use of the audio theatre medium, which employs voice acting, sound effects, acoustic environments, music, and technological enhancements when needed. The final mix of these elements will be a deciding factor. Simple multi-cast or single-voice readings of books are generally not considered audio theatre.

The Betty Jo Award for Best Performance will be adjudicated among all entries, as judges in each category will make nominations from their group. To be considered in this category, entrants must check the appropriate box and pay an additional review fee.

The Bradshaw will be awarded by nomination from the Mark Time Advisory Board however all entrants are invited to make a nomination to be considered now or in the future.


Entries in all categories will be accepted by mail and must be received by
March 1st, 2018. Submissions should be sent as soon as possible, to avoid last minute rush.

To be eligible, submissions must be produced and made publicly available between May 1, 2016 and March 1, 2018.

Finalists will be notified in May, 2018.


--Download the entry form (
MS Word Doc or PDF), complete it, and send it with required materials and a check or money order for the complete amount to “Otherworld Media,” P.O. Box 566, Freeland, WA 98249.

For multiple entries, complete a form for each production. Fees will apply for each entry.

Mail completed form to Mark Time Awards, Otherworld Media, P.O. Box 566, Freeland, WA 98249
Email to: In subject line, write: MARK TIME 2018


For each program submission, send two audio CD copies. Make sure your submission CD plays back on a standard car CD player, for the convenience of the judges.

Also provide a one-minute clip of the program which can serve as a tease or demonstration for the awards presentation.

Clearly label the sample but do not use a stick-on paper label for the CD’s. CD’s with stick-on paper labels will not be auditioned.

If your program is also available online, please provide a link. This does not exempt you from the CD submission requirement but may be used to provide additional information about your program and make playback available for promotional purposes.


Each production entered must submit a fee of
A student fee of $25 will be charged for The Runyon (Under 18) category.