The Mark Time Awards

What's New


Jun 2018
May 2018
Feb 2018
Mar 2017
Jun 2016
May 2016
Mar 2016
Jan 2015

2018 Mark Time Awards Entry Now Open


The Mark Time Awards are open for submissions for the 2018 competition. The MTAs recognize the best audio theatre productions in the genres of science fiction (Mark Time Award), fantasy and horror (The Ogle Award), and mystery/detective (The Danger Prize). The Runyon Award is open to a production in any of the competitive categories, produced by youth under 18 years of age. This year’s 2018 competition offers a new category for best comedy—The Squeeky Pickle Prize.

The Betty Jo Award is given to the best acting performance among the winning submissions, at the judges’ discretion and The Bradshaw is awarded out of competition, for “services to the field,” to an individual or group for outstanding contributions to the advancement and preservation of audio theatre arts. In its fourth year presenting at the HEAR Now Audio Fiction and Arts Festival, the Mark Time Awards celebrates its 22nd year of honoring good work in the audio medium. As a legacy project of the Firesign Theatre (, the awards encourage creative use of the audio arts encompassing skillful use of writing, voice performance, sound effects, acoustic environments, musical elements, and technological tools of the trade. Both “live radio” performances and studio-based productions are eligible for consideration, so long as the entry has premiered to the public via broadcast or digital platforms between May 1, 2016 and May 1st, 2018.

The judging panel is made up of the surviving members of the Firesign Theatre family, the original founders of the Mark Time Awards, previous winners of the awards, and other professionals in the spoken-word, broadcast, podcast, and audio arts community.

New application guidelines and process are available at The deadline for submissions has been extended to April 20th, 2018 with announcement of finalists no later than May 4th, 2018. Winners will be announced June 7 at the
HEAR Now Festival in Kansas City, MO.

For questions, email with “Mark Time Awards” in the subject line, or call 360-331-2813, 9-5 PT.